Rhetorical Analysis

Back when I first went to college in 2011 I had no idea what I actually wanted to do, and just felt obligated to go to college. I was originally in the Laser program at Indian Hills Community College, but soon found out that I had no interest in a subject I couldn’t wrap my head around, so I switched to Robotics. I instantly loved robotics, it all just clicked with me, and seemed almost simple to understand. I graduated from IHCC with an A.A.S in Robotics and Automation Technology. Now here I am two years later hoping to get into the Mechanical Engineering major starting in the fall.

I want to expand my knowledge of all things mechanical and, hopefully someday, create some cool new inventions for the world, or even just myself, to enjoy! I would love to learn as much as I can about mechanical engineering and maybe sprinkle in a bit of electrical engineering in there to help me along with my crazy ideas. During my time in IHCC I was exposed to different kinds of engineering through the robotics program there. Most of it was probably industrial, but it dad have a nice mix of electrical, and I would like to expand upon that knowledge. I would like to use the knowledge I already have on the subjects at hand to help along other students that may have use of it, I didn’t spend those two years at community college for nothing! I’m not exactly sure how I can personally help the University or the community around it.

Maybe I can represent the school in some kind of robotics competition, or just by making something noteworthy and getting more attention to the schools’ engineering programs. I would like to be remembered as the helpful guy that was a bit of a mad scientist when it came to making things in lab, if I can be remembered that way by anyone during my time at school I think I could be happy.

http://uiowa.orgsync.com/org/uirobotics/home

Thesis: They seem to present a fun community with a focus on mechanical projects and robotics!

Topic Sentence 1: They have a lot of videos and pictures of various events they have gone to as the club.

Topic Sentence 2: They have very professional looking posts that are all about what the club is all about.

Topic Sentence 3: They have many pictures of projects that they have made, both the finished product and them in the process of making the robot.

mech cat